May 20, 2019
Moto Gulf > BSBK Season 3 News > Al Muyini Sizzles with Impressive ‘Double-Double’ in National Race Day at BIC

Al Muyini Sizzles with Impressive ‘Double-Double’ in National Race Day at BIC

November 3, 2017

The second round of National Race Day at Bahrain International Circuit (BIC) produced plenty of thrills in the three local championships in action over the weekend in Sakhir.

Ahmed Al Muyini stole the show after clinching a rare “double-double”, winning all four races from two different motorbike categories, namely the Bahrain Superbike Championship (BSBK) and the Bahrain Motorcycle Racing (BMR) 600.

Meanwhile, Raed Himmo, a former champion and perennial contender in the BIC 2,000cc Challenge, emerged victorious in the meeting’s first race. All the action took place along the 2.55-kilometre Inner Track of BIC, beginning in the day time and then ending under floodlights at night. Al Muyini was in a class of his own with a clean sweep of both races in the BSBK and BMR 600.

After topping the timesheets in qualifying to earn pole position for race one, Al Muyini won the 11-lap opening sprint in a total time of 12 minutes 54.977 seconds – 6.924 seconds ahead of runner-up Wesley Pearce. Salman Khalaf came third 14.638s back. Race two featured the same podium, with Al Muyini taking the chequered flag 3.307s ahead of Pearce and Khalaf finishing 13.456s behind.

Al Muyini topped the field in qualifying and once again secured the leading position at the start grid. He made no mistake in defending his place despite plenty of pressure from his closest rival Mohammad Al Zaidan. Only 0.327s split the pair at the end of race one, who were well ahead of the rest of the riders. Nasser Al Khadra came third a massive 32.976s back. They made up the top three in the race’s Super Stock category. In the Hornet class, Mohammed Al Ateeqi was victorious. He was followed by Pawel Rosciszewski and Ahmad Abdulsalam. In race two, the same trio finished in the same order as the first race, although Al Muyini enjoyed a more comfortable victory having a 14.585s gap in front of Al Zaidan by the finish. Al Khadra was classified third 33.309s behind. The Hornet class also had the same podium-placers, with Al Ateeqi, Rosciszewski and Abdulsalam taking the top three.

Source: BIC